logo plus RHS

Aims and Objectives

The aims of the Club are to promote the interests of members in gardening, to hold social activities for all members and to organise talks and demonstrations with trips to places of horticultural interest.



The Club meets monthly, Please see Home page for dates and times.   Our meetings are held in the Conference Centre at the College with a different guest speaker each time.  Subjects recently have included sensory plants, carnivorous plants, the Shandy Hall garden, wildlife in the garden and garden design for small spaces.  


At least once a year we invite a "celebrity" to come and speak. Over recent years we have heard from Chris Beardshaw, Sarah Hopps, Matthew Biggs, Matthew Wilson and Martin Fish and Mark Gregory among many others.




We arrange to visit places of interest during the summer months.  Usually these are venues which are open for group visits or by special arrangement.


The Future

The Committee arranges a 12-month programme. of events.

W H A T   W E   D O


The Askham Bryan College Gardening Club was formed and formally launched in March 1998.  The then Principal of the College was keen for the College to become more involved with the local community, amateur gardeners and possibly further out into the county.


The College remains fully supportive of the Club permitting us to use its name and facilities e,g. Reference Library.


The Principal is our President and another member of staff have places on the Club Committee.


W H O  W E  A R E

Club Committee


President: Askham Bryan College CEO

Chairman: David Whiteman

Vice Chairman: Judith Pentith

Front of House Team: Lynne Gray with others as needed

Refreshments: Muriel Fildes and helpers

Newsletter Editorial Team: Anne Powell and June Rogers

Website & IT: Dawn Johnson

RHS Liaison: Dawn Johnson

Talks Programme: Jo Smakman

Summer Visits Programme: Judith Pentith

Coach Trips: Anne & Peter Powell

Publications: John Pentith

Publicity: David Whiteman

Charity Christmas Card Sales: June Rogers & Anne Powell

Annual Student Award: Jilly Heppell & David Whiteman

College Representative: Jilly Heppell